Healthy Acceptance

The word “acceptance” is a battle cry of our culture. “You have to accept me! You have to accept me right where I am! Jesus did!” Hard to argue with that. . . particularly when they insert Jesus into the argument.

Jesus did accept people with lots of dysfunctions including me.

That having been said He never said my sins/dysfunctions weren’t wrong; He never left me where He found me (in my dysfunctions); and He never enabled my dysfunctions.

Our culture wants everything in that last paragraph included in the word “acceptance.” We must with discernment not cave in to that pressure.

I’ve tried to illustrate this with a picture. What do you think?

20120909-070758.jpg

Leave a Reply

