Marvelous Light

Last weekend at Shadow Lake Community Church we sang the song Marvelous Light. The chorus includes the following lines. “Into marvelous light I’m running, out of darkness, out of shame, by the cross, You are the truth, You are the life, You are the way.” At the time we were singing this song I was less than 4 hours from being a Grandpa for the very first time. My daughter was well along in the labor and delivery process, so everything I heard and sang was going through this filter, “I am about to be a Grandpa.”
Naturally, I thought about my grandson being born and going from darkness to light. Which made me think of John 3:3, “Jesus replied, “Very truly I tell you, no one can see the kingdom of God unless they are born again.” My Grandson had not even been born, and I felt compelled to pray for him to be “born again”. The technical definition of born again is an act of God whereby eternal life is imparted to the person who believes that Jesus Christ is who he says he is. In Kidzone language it is asking Jesus to be our Forever Friend. For me the biggest freak out part of being a parent wasn’t that my children would be born, there were doctors and nurses and equipment and monitors and I felt very safe, very confident that things would turn out right. My only real concern on delivery night, “would the bite mark on my arm heal after getting it to close to my wives mouth during a contraction?” The biggest freak out from me as a parent had nothing to do with their first birth, it was will my children be “born again”?

The song also draws from John 14:6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” There was only one way for my kids to be born again and it wasn’t through their Dad. There is only one way for my grandson to be born again, and it isn’t through Grandpa. There is only one way for your Kids to be born again, and it isn’t through their Pastor. See I want to make that decision for my grandson! In fact I want to make it right now, today, but I can’t. Christianity is an individual thing; it is me believing that Jesus is who he says he is. No one can make that decision for me. My grandson has to make that decision for himself. So I do what I can…I will follow Jesus with my body, mind, and soul…I will model what it looks like to be a Christ follower…I will pray for him often…I will talk to him about how awesome Jesus is…I will…

I am passionate that my new Grandson, when he is old enough will give his life to Jesus Christ. And, just so you know, I am also passionate about every kid that is a part of Kidzone at Shadow Lake Community Church and even those that aren’t yet a part of Kidzone. James 2:4 says, “God… wants all people to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth”. As the Children’s Pastor at Shadow Lake Community Church, part of my mission is to do everything I can to help your kids come to a point where they ask Jesus to be their Forever Friend. That has been and will continue to be my passion!

Roger Graber
Children’s Pastor

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Marvelous Light

  1. Beth Wallman says:

    Thanks Roger, for sharing your heart with us. You are a blessing to all the children at Shadow Lake Community Church!

  2. Ty Stutzman says:

    Great blog Howie!!!

Leave a Reply

